Nature’s Bounty at the Farmers Market

This is the time of year when the farmers market is in full swing. There are two markets in our town that between them happen three days a week—and others close by, each with its own personality.

Honestly, I just can’t get enough of it, and I thought I’d share some photos I took at the Murfreesboro Saturday Market today. Enjoy!

Tomatoes. Those are Mr. Stripeys in the lower left. Don’t you just love that name?

Tomatoes. Those are Mr. Stripeys in the lower left. Don’t you just love that name?

Seedless watermelons picked this morning.

Seedless watermelons picked this morning.

Okra was everywhere this morning.

Okra was everywhere this morning.

Colorful patty pan squash, yellow crookneck squash, zucchini, and others whose names I don’t know.

Colorful patty pan squash, yellow crookneck squash, zucchini, and others whose names I don’t know.

Little potatoes next to green beans.

Little potatoes next to green beans.

Just look at these peppers! Love the colors!

Just look at these peppers! Love the colors!

Quart boxes of mixed cherry tomatoes.

Quart boxes of mixed cherry tomatoes.

I’ve posted a little about farmers markets before (here and here are two I visited in Ireland; here’s the last day of the 2013 Saturday Market), but I don’t think I’ve ever even pictured the Rutherford County Farmers Market, which is my personal favorite.

Rutherford County Farmers Market on a Tuesday morning in early July 2015.

Rutherford County Farmers Market on a Tuesday morning in early July 2015.

Hope you have a farmers market near you—and more importantly, that you are patronizing it. It’s good for your personal health and good for the economic health of your community. Do it!

 

Leave a Reply

