Bad Hair Day

Ireland is on my mind, because I’m very close to heading that direction. Just a couple more weeks. I’m going, this time, to attend the wedding of my niece, Ashling. (Also, it will be very, very nice to see my husband.)

Actually the last two times I’ve traveled to Ireland have been for weddings, too, and every time I look at those pictures (any of the pictures from Ireland, really), I always wonder What was wrong with my hair? I generally wonder it while I’m in Ireland, too, but, like the pain of childbirth, you forget in the wake of the delight.

Right?

I don’t generally have a bad hair day. I have a good hairdresser who gives me a good cut for my particular hair, and that’s the secret. My hair cooperates 99 percent of the time. But in Ireland … not so much. I end up wishing I looked better in those family photographs, with the What was wrong with my hair? question plaguing me.

And then it dawned on me. I researched. And yes, I have the solution, ladies.

I obtained this map from the AquaSafe article linked below.

I obtained this map from the AquaSafe article linked below.

It’s hard water. The folks at AquaSafe in Limerick say,

Rainwater is naturally soft. It only becomes hard if it percultes through chalk and limestone and dissolves some of the minerals. So the kind of water you have depends on the surrounding geology and the source of your water supply – whether it is river or ground water. Most of Ireland has hard water.

When you have hard water (we do here in Tennessee too), you get build-up of “scale” (various minerals, particularly calcium) in your pipes, your washing machine, hot water heater … and your hair (where it’s much less obvious). Gerry and I have a water softener here in the house, so when I go to Ireland and start washing my hair in hard water, those minerals collect in my hair and give me day after day of bad hair.

There are remedies. Easiest, perhaps, is to rinse your hair, after shampooing, in vinegar or lemon juice. Or use a store-bought “clarifying” shampoo (I got one from my hairdresser). These shampoos are intended to remove “product build-up,” and should be used sparingly, since they’ll dry out your hair with daily use. It will be OK to use it Ireland, though, to overcome the mineral buildup that my hair just isn’t used to.

Problem solved!

One thought on “Bad Hair Day

  1. Pingback: Distilled Water—A Precious Commodity in Ireland | Wanderlustful

Leave a Reply

