Spring Is Bustin’ Out All Over (Finally!)

Actually, it’s still a bit chilly here in Middle Tennessee, but the things that are supposed to be blooming are, in fact, up and at ’em—

I love my iris bed. Thanks, previous homeowner!

I love my iris bed. Thanks, previous homeowner!

Early morning sunlight on the dogwood in early April.

Hosta, Solomon’s seal, and lily-of-the-valley. Hard to believe this little forest of Solomon’s seal started from one plant in one two-inch pot about five years ago.

Hosta, Solomon’s seal, and lily-of-the-valley. Hard to believe this little forest of Solomon’s seal started from one plant in one two-inch pot about five years ago.

Foam flower peeking through a low branch of the Japanese maple.

Foam flower peeking through a low branch of the Japanese maple.

One day it was nothing to look at, the next, this. Crazy!

One day it was nothing to look at, the next, this. Crazy!

Three different kinds of coral bells.

Three different kinds of coral bells.

—and I have put together the first “found bouquet” (sometimes I call it a scavenged bouquet) of the season.

I love fresh flowers, but the budget doesn’t allow for store-bought. So I make do with what I can find in the yard. Between the herbs and the perennials, there’s always some greenery and color to fill a vase every few days from April to October. Have a look at my first scavenger hunt.

IMG_8745

IMG_8749

First scavenged bouquet of 2015! Peppermint, marjoram, leaves from hosta and coral bells, Solomon’s seal, lilies-of-the-valley, foam flower, and iris. Presented in a beautiful Depression glass pitcher, one of my favorite pieces of glassware.

Leave a Reply

