Departure Day

My suitcases are all packed. The house sitters are comfortable. Every single thing is taken care of. (Well, there’s some work I’ll have to do in my spare moments. It couldn’t be helped.) Otherwise, I’m ready to go.

And yet. At the risk of sounding like the crazy cat lady I am, I feel quite sad about leaving the felines. The fact is, I live alone and they are my constant companions. I like them. And I’ve reached the age at which I know how fragile and ephemeral life is. So I worry about them, and I’ll really miss them.

I’m nervous, excited, and melancholy all at the same time.

2 thoughts on “Departure Day

  1. They will never be far from your mind and heart. It’s just our nature. But as you head east, you will be experiencing a world of rich emotion and new experiences that will lift your spirit. Frankly, I’m jealous. And praying for safe travel and great craic. 🙂

Leave a Reply

